Indiana Chapter - American Planning Association

2016 Hoosier Planning Award Winners

Posted on March 1st, by Nate Nickel in Awards. No Comments

By Nate Nickel

The annual APA-IN Hoosier Planning Awards honor excellence in the plans, individuals and organizations that have advanced the practice of planning within the state.  They help showcase our profession and are a celebration of Indiana’s finest planning projects and people.

The Hoosier Planning Awards were presented at this year’s APA-IN spring conference that was held in Muncie.  The following organizations, projects and individuals were honored with awards:

Outstanding Best Practice: Indy Rezone (City of Indianapolis)

Outstanding Best Practice – Honorable Mention: Evansville Bicycle & Pedestrian Connectivity Master Plan (City of Evansville)

Outstanding Plan: Valparaiso Creative District Plan (City of Valparaiso)

Outstanding Plan: Columbia City Comprehensive Plan – Level Up (City of Columbia City)

Outstanding Plan – Honorable Mention: Livable Broadway Regional Plan (Gary Public Transportation Corp.)

Outstanding Communications Initiative: Wabash Strategic Revitalization Plan for America’s Best Communities Competition (City of Wabash and Economic Development Group of Wabash County, Inc.)

Outstanding Public Outreach: Gary’s Miller Spotlight Volunteers (the Legacy Foundation’s Neighborhood Spotlight Initiative)

Outstanding Student Project: GIS Analysis of Solar Energy Potential in Monroe County, Indiana (Ben Weise, Indiana University, Bloomington – School of Public and Environmental Affairs)

Congratulations to all of the 2016 Hoosier Planning Award winners!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *