Indiana Chapter - American Planning Association

Board Members

Executive Committee
Elections for APA Indiana officers are held every year, but the terms are staggered to prevent a fully new board in any given year. The president serves a four year term (president-elect for one year, president for two years, and immediate past president for one year) and all other board members serve two year terms.

Chapter President
Joshua Desmond, AICP – City of Bloomington

Past President
Robert Thompson, AICP – Porter County

Christopher Huff, AICP

Larry Strange, AICP – Mp2planning, LLC

Professional Development Officer (PDO)
Frank Nierzwicki, AICP – Indiana University

Planning Officials Development Officer (PODO)
Mark McCormack – Dearborn County

At-Large Board Members
The regional representatives are elected at large but must live/work in the region they represent. The board meets in odd numbered months to conduct the business of the chapter.

Northern Region:
Mitch Barloga, AICP – Northwest Indiana Regional Planning Commission
Abby Wiles, AICP – City of Goshen

Central Region:
Aletha Dunston, AICP – State of Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs (OCRA)
Kathryn (Katie) Wertz, AICP – Development Concepts, Inc.

Southern Region:
Bob Grewe, AICP – BLA
Beth Rosenbarger, AICP – City of Bloomington

Citizen Planner:
Rob Horning – Michiana Shores

Student Representative:

Faculty Representative:
Scott Truex, AICP – Ball State University

Ex-Officio Board Members
Conferences, membership management, awards, and newsletters would not be possible without the efforts of our Ex-Officio Board Members.

Awards Committee Chair

Legislative & Policy Committee Chair
Phil Roth, AICP

Communications Committee Chair
Katie Bannon, AICP – City of Indianapolis

Membership Committee Chair
Adam Peaper, AICP – Rundell Ernstberger Associates (REA)

Sponsorship Committee Chair
Lisa M. Dunaway, AICP – Sensible Ecology LLC and Ball State University

Liaison to Ball State University (College of Architecture & Planning)
Dann Bird, FAICP – City of Shelbyville

National Officers (Honorary Board Members)

APA Board of Directors Region IV Director
Cynthia Bowen, AICP – Rundell Ernstberger Associates (REA)

Indiana’s Region IV AICP Commission Representative
Cynthia L. Hoyle, FAICP

Standing Committees

  •  For a full listing of our Standing Committees and how to join them, please Click Here